10th IMYA


May 14th -May 18th 2014

Chalmers University of Technology
Gothenburg, Sweden



The 10th International Meeting on Yeast Apoptosis is bringing together investigators from around the world to present and discuss research that uses yeast as model to study regulated stress responses, cell aging and cell death pathways. The conference sessions will include different topics, including (but not limited to):

  • systems biology, network biology and integrated approaches to aging and  cell death
  • mitochondrial cell death pathways
  • caspase-dependent and independent apoptosis
  • aging in different yeasts
  • regulation of aging and cell death
  • alternative cell death pathways
  • yeast as a model for protein misfolding and proteostasis management

All participants are strongly encouraged to submit an abstract.

Opportunities are available for oral and poster presentations.

Key dates

Early conference registration: before January 31, 2014
Abstract submission deadline:  April 4, 2014
Late conference registration: before May 13, 2014

Organizing Committee

Chair: Dina Petranovic
Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden
Co-chair: Thomas Nyström
Gothenburg University, Sweden

Martina Butorac, Sysbio manager
Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden
Erica Dahlin, Financial Officer
Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden
Helena Janveden, Administrator
Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden
Martin Markström, Co-director
Area of Advance Life Science Engineering
Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden


Scientific Advisory Board*

Manuela Côrte-Real
Universidade do Minho, Portugal
Paula Ludovico
Universidade do Minho, Portugal
Jordan Kolarov
Comenius University, Slovakia
Michael Breitenbach
Universität Salzburg, Austria
William Burhans
Roswell Park Cancer Institute, Buffalo, USA
Gennaro D'Urso,
University of Miami, USA
Joris Winderickx

Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium
Frank Madeo
Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz, Austria
Campbell Gourlay
University of Kent, UK
Cristina Mazzoni
Sapienza Università di Roma, Italy
Sergio Giannattasio
Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche, Italy


*Organizers and chairs of nine previous IMYA meetings


Year Venue Chairs
1 2002 Braga, Portugal Manuela Corte-Real and Paula Ludovico
2 2003 Smolenice, Slovakia Jordan Kolarov
3 2004 Salzburg, Austria Michael Breitenbach
4 2005 Miami, USA William Burhans and Gennaro D'Urso
5 2006 Kutna Hora, Czech Alena Picová
6 2008 Leuven, Belgium Joris Winderickx
7 2009 Graz, Austria Frank Madeo
8 2011 Kent, UK Campbell Gourlay
9 2012 Rome, Italy Cristina Mazzoni and Sergio Giannattasio
10 2014 Göteborg, Sweden Dina Petranovic and Thomas Nyström