DAY 1: Wednesday, May 14th 2014
From 14:30 Registration starts  
16:00-16:15 Welcome from the Chairs Dina Petranovic (Chalmers) and Thomas Nyström (GU)
16:15-16:30 Welcome from the Rector Prof. Karin Markides, Chalmers President and CEO
16:30-17:30 Opening lecture: Frank Madeo “From dying yeasts to longevity drugs”
17:30-19:00 Welcome reception and mingle
Note: It will be possible to put up the posters already from 14:30h.
DAY 2: Thursday, May 15th 2014
Session A Chaired by Dan Gottschling
08:00-08:45 Invited lecture 1: Marie Hardwick "Cell Death screen in yeast uncovers mechanisms of new human disease genes"
08:45-09:15 Sergio Giannattasio "The tumor suppressor BRCA2 can modulate programmed cell death through a mechanism conserved in yeast and humans"
09:15-09:45 Juha Saarikangas "Aging induces the formation of an organelle-like protein deposit that promotes cell diversity"
09:45-10:15 Break  
10:15-11:00 Invited lecture 2: Matthias Heinemann "Molecular phenotyping of a replicatively aging yeast"
11:00-11:30 Ilya Finkelstein "From cradle to grave: high-throughput observations of the replicative lifespan of fission yeast"
11:30-12:00 Milena Georgieva "Chromatin remodeling as a modulator of ageing"
12:00-13:00 Lunch  
Session B Chaired by Marie Hardwick
13:00-13:45 Invited lecture 3: Liza Pon "Actin dynamics affects mitochondrial quality control and aging in budding yeast"
13:45-14:15 Beidong Liu "Deciphering factors required for asymmetrical inheritance of protein aggregates"
14:15-14:45 Aviv Cohen "Aggregation of polyQ proteins increases upon yeast aging and is affected by genes and conditions that alter yeast lifespan"
14:45-15:15 Break  
15:15-16:00 Invited lecture 4: Dan Gottschling "Organelle deterioration with age: The limits of an interconnected cellular system"
16:00-16:30 Nicanor Austriaco "The Isothiocyanate, Sulforaphane, Alters the Acidification of the Vacuole to Trigger Yeast Cell Death"
16:30-17:00 Birthe Fahrenkrog "Epigenetic regulation of yeast cell death: the role of histone methylation"
17:00-18:30 Poster session (odd numbers) with snacks in Volvofoyer outside RunAn
Dinner on your own
DAY 3: Friday, May 16th 2014
Session C Chaired by Paula Ludovico
08:00-08:45 Invited lecture 5: Chris Meisinger "Signalling pathways regulating mitochondrial protein import"
08:45-09:15 Vladimir Titorenko "Mechanism of "liponecrosis", a novel form of programmed cell death"
09:15-09:45 George Miloshev "Linker histones, higher-order chromatin structures and ageing"
09:45-10:15 Break  
10:15-11:00 Invited lecture 6: Christina Mazzoni "mRNA degradation and its effect on cellular lifespan and apoptosis in yeast"
11:00-11:30 Susana Chaves "Cell wall dynamics modulate acetic acid-induced apoptotic cell death of Saccharomyces cerevisiae"
11:30-12:00 Michael Greenwood "Identification of human Lactate Dehydrogenase B (LDHB) as a Bax suppressor provides further evidence that lactate is a stress induced pro-apoptotic second messenger in yeast"
12:00-13:00 Lunch  
Session D Chaired by Chris Meisinger
13:00-13:45 Invited lecture 7: Paula Ludovico "Increased autophagy in aging yeast cells expressing alpha-synuclein promotes metabolic and DNA replication stresses"
13:45-14:15 Marc Meneghini "Molecular Mechanisms Controlling Mega-autophagy During Yeast Sporoptosis"
14:15-14:45 Frank Rosenzweig "Uncoupling reproduction from metabolism extends chronological lifespan in yeast"
14:45-15:15 Break  
15:15-16:00 Invited lecture 8: Manuela Côrte-Real "The yeast vacuolar protease Pep4p unveils a novel function of the human Cathepsin D during acetate-induced mitochondrial apoptosis in colorectal carcinoma cells"
16:00-16:30 Jean-Luc Parrou "A new function for the Tps1 protein as a major anti-apoptotic factor in the yeast S cerevisiae"
16:30-17:00 Karin Thevissen "The plant decapeptide OSIP108 prevents copper-induced apoptosis in yeast and human cells"
17:00-18:30 Poster session (even numbers) with snacks in Kårresturangen
Dinner on your own
DAY 4: Saturday, May 17th 2014
Session E Chaired by Lynn A. Megeney
08:00-08:45 Invited lecture 9: Gertien J. Smits "pH homeostasis in the mitochondrial matrix"
08:45-09:15 Anna-Karin Gustavsson "Studying Glycolytic Oscillations in Single Yeast Cells using Optical Tweezers and Microfluidics"
09:15-09:45 Alan Weids "The yeast Tsa1 peroxiredoxin protects against protein aggregate-induced oxidative stress"
09:45-10:15 Break  
10:15-11:00 Invited lecture 10: Pascale Daran-Lapujade "A yeast life at the twilight zone between nutrient limitation and starvation"
11:00-11:30 Shoshana Bar-Nun "Upon aging, Hsf1 activation by heat shock or oxidative stress declines but its response to glucose starvation is maintained"
11:30-12:00 Zdena Palkova "How to grow old and stay fit: Different strategies of yeast colonies"
12:00-13:00 Lunch  
Session F Chaired by Pascale Daran-Lapujade
13:00-13:45 Invited lecture 11: Lynn A. Megeney "The role of protease activity in the control of ALS associated toxic protein aggregation"
13:45-14:15 Sabrina Büttner "Molecular determinants of α-synuclein cytotoxicity in yeast"
14:15-14:45 Maria Joao Sousa "Regulation of acetic acid-induced programmed cell death in Saccharomyces cerevisiae: insights from a functional genomic approach"
14:45-15:15 Break  
15:15-16:00 Invited lecture 12: Charlie Boone "The Genetic Landscape of a Cell"
16:00-16:30 F.-Nora Voegtle "Mitochondrial proteostasis: Functional coupling of presequence processing and peptide turnover reveals toxic mechanism of Amyloid-beta"
16:45 Pick up for the tour and the Conference dinner
DAY 5: Sunday, May 18th 2014
Session G Chaired by Dina Petranovic
09:00-09:30 Titus Franzmann "Regulated protein aggregation and disaggregation coordinate the cellular response to stress"
09:30-10:00 David Ellis "Screening for Prions in Fission Yeast"
10:30-11:00 Martin Soste "A sentinel protein assay for the simultaneous, large-scale quantification of cellular process activities"
11:00-11:15 Short break  
11:15-12:15  Closing lecture: Susan Lindquist “From yeast cells to patient neurons: a powerful discovery platform for combatting neurodegenerative diseases”
12:15-12:30 Announcement of the poster prizes (Thomas Nyström) and closing of the conference